Academy Awards Program

The Academy of Spinal Cord Injury Professionals Leadership Award
As an individual or agency, nominee must:

  • Demonstrate outstanding leadership in SCI/D on a national and/or international level through development of high quality programs, public policy impacting individuals with SCI/D, a history of research contributions in the SCI/D field, and community advocacy and/or promotion of expertise among professionals in the field of SCI/D
  • Is a recognized leader in the field of SCI/D by peers, professionals, and/or community served demonstrated by letters of support
  • Have made a positive impact in quality of life for individuals with SCI and/or the SCI community

ASCIP Leadership Award Recipients

2020 Sigmund Hough, Ph.D., ABPP/rp  
2019 Lisa Beck MS, APRN, CNS, CRRN
2018 William L. Bockenk, MD
2017  Stephen Burns, MD
2016  Steven Kirshblum, MD
2015  Beth Goldsmith
2014  Denny O’Malley, MHA
2013  Paul J. Tobin, LMSW
2012  Margaret Hammond, MD

James J. Peters Distinguished Service Award

  • Demonstrate outstanding contributions to SCI/D care
  • Contribute significantly to national activities related to SCI/D health care
  • Contribute significantly to the growth and function of the academy
  • Demonstrate dedication in achieving excellence in health care of Persons with SCI/D
  • Demonstrated exceptional accomplishment in the area of SCI/D care

Learn more about this award here.

James J. Peters Award Recipients

2020 Catherine Wilson, PysD., ABPP (RP)
2019 Terrie Price, PhD, ABPP
2018 Rita Hamilton, DO
2017  Dan Lammertse, MD
2016  Sunil Sabharwal, MD
2015  Lisa Beck, MS, RN, CNS, CRRN
2014  Lester Butt, PhD, ABPP
2013  Lawrence C. Vogel, MD
2012  John DeLuca, PhD
2011  Anthony DiMarco, MD
2010  Jeanne LeBlanc, PhD, RPsych, ABPP
2009  Dennis O’Malley, BS, MHHS
2008  Clair Russell Hesselton, PhD
2007  James J. Weisman, JD
2006  William A. Bauman, MD
2005  Rory Cooper, PhD
2004  Gerard M. Kelly

The Anthony DiMarco Lectureship

The DiMarco Lecturship Fund was established by a donation from the DiMarco Foundation in 2012. The funding supports a lecture at the annual ASCIP conference by a distinguished clinician, basic scientist or researcher with recognized expertise in the field of respiratory medicine for persons with spinal cord injury.

2020 Naseema B Merchant, MD, FCCP, FACP, FHM
2019 James Fenton, MD, FCCP
2018 Eric Garshick, MD, MOH
2017  Stephen McKenna, MD
2016  William Bauman, MD
2015  F. Dennis McCool, MD
2014  Mary Massery, PT, DPT, DSc

Rebecca “Becky” J. Adcock, PhD Award for Excellence in Mentoring

This NEW Academy level award is in memory of Dr. Becky Adcock, a rehabilitation psychologist and ASCIP member who recognized the importance of providing mentorship to SCI professionals to advance the field of SCI health care. This award will recognize an ASCIP member who has demonstrated exceptional accomplishment in the area of mentorship within the SCI field.

  • Nominee must have participated as a mentor in the ASCIP Early Career and Training Committee Mentoring Program
  • Nominee has demonstrated exceptional commitment to mentoring within the SCI field
  • Nominee must have made a significant, positive impact in the professional development of the mentee(s) through mentoring activities and achievements
  • Nominations for this award may ONLY be made by mentees who received mentorship through the Early Career and Training Committee Mentoring Program
Rebecca J. Adcock Award Recipients

2020 M. Kristi Henzel, MD, PhD
2019  B. Jenny Kiratli, PhD
2018 Catherine Wilson, PsvD, ABPP (Rp)
2017  Sigmund Hough, PhD, ABPP/rp
2016  Jon Rose, PhD

Bors Award

The objective of the Bors Award is to encourage interest in research among young professionals in the field of SCI.

  • Eligibility/Authorship: Manuscripts must be authored or co-authored (first author) by young investigators with a special interest in spinal cord research. Eligibility is limited to doctoral candidates, medical school students, medical residents or post-doctoral fellows. The academic/training program must have a track leading to a career in SCI research.
  • Time frame: Submissions are restricted to manuscripts accepted for publication by the JSCM during the calendar year. Each acceptance letter contains a reminder about the Award, as do the JSCM Guidelines for Authors.

Bors Award Recipients

2020 Beverly Hon, MD
2019 Kristin L. Garlanger, D.O.
2018 Kelsey A. Potter-Baker, PhD
2017 No Winner Chosen
2016  Ryan Solinsky, MD
2014  Miriam Hwang, MD, PhD
2011  Shivayogi V. Hiremath, MS

ASCIP Research Committee – Outstanding Trainee Researchers

2017  Sujuan Cai, PhD candidate and Carolyn Campbell, MD
2016  Beth Cloud, PT, DPT, PhD, Kelsey Potter-Baker, PhD, Anne Riordan, MA
2015  Alice Hon, Mary Jimenez, DNP, FNP-BC, Sherri LaVela, PhD, MPH, MBA, Sara Locatelli, PhD

2014  Jasmine Hearn and Shalinin Selvarajah, MD, MPH
2013  Sara M. Lenherr, MD, Anne Riordan, MA, and Katarina Waters, DNP, FNP-C, MSN, APRN
2012  Wesley Chay, MD and Shilpa Krishnan